SC Johnson Press Room
Tuesday, June 24, 2014

SC Johnson Young Leaders Scholarship Program Names Racine-Area Recipients

Program has Granted $3.2 Million in Scholarships Over 12 Year Period

RACINE, Wis., (June 24, 2014) –  SC Johnson is pleased to announce that the SC Johnson Young Leaders Scholarship program has awarded $300,000 to 16 students over the next four years, for those who remain in good academic standing and attend an accredited school. The program, now in its 12th year, granted 16 new scholarships and renewed 45 scholarships for the 2014/2015 academic year.

"As a family company, helping local students with educational costs is an important way that we give back to our community,” said Fisk Johnson, Chairman and CEO of SC Johnson. "Education is so important, and SC Johnson is committed to supporting Racine’s young leaders as they pursue their academic goals."

This year's recipients include: Devin C. Anderson (Washington Park High School), Berenice Beltran-Maldonado (William Horlick High School), Amber M. Carr-Marzette (J. I. Case High School), Kathryn R. Gengozian (J. I. Case High School), Casey A. Hamilton (William Horlick High School), Isha Hammad (J. I. Case High School), Yahir Hernandez (William Horlick High School), Caitlin N. Kujawa (Washington Park High School), Rebecca L. Peeper (Saint Catherine’s High School), Jason A. Pica II (Racine Lutheran High School), Devon M. Polk (Saint Catherine’s High School), Kristina N. Randelzhofer (Union Grove High School), Kristen L. Riekkoff (William Horlick High School), Lucero G. Rocha (William Horlick High School), Bryan Suzan (J. I. Case High School) and Chase C. Wember (Racine Lutheran High School).

SC Johnson established the Young Leaders Scholarships in 2002, and has assisted nearly 200 students and granted $3.2 million in scholarships since the program's inception. All Racine-area seniors are eligible to apply with the exception of dependents of employees, retirees and shareholders of SC Johnson who qualify separately for the SC Johnson Sons and Daughters Scholarship Program. To be eligible to apply for the Young Leaders Scholarships, applicants must demonstrate economic need, have at least a 2.5 cumulative grade point average and enroll in a full-time undergraduate course of study at an accredited college, university or vocational-technical school.

Scholarships are granted without regard to race, color, creed, religion, sexual orientation, gender or disability. Each recipient receives a scholarship up to $5,000 with the ability to renew it for three additional years. The scholarships are awarded by SC Johnson Giving, Inc., the grant-making arm of SC Johnson. The program is administered by Scholarship America.

About SC Johnson
SC Johnson is a family company dedicated to innovative, high-quality products, excellence in the workplace and a long-term commitment to the environment and the communities in which it operates. Based in the USA, the company is one of the world's leading manufacturers of household cleaning products and products for home storage, air care, pest control and shoe care. It markets such well-known brands as GLADE®, KIWI®, OFF!®, PLEDGE®, RAID®, SCRUBBING BUBBLES®, SHOUT®, WINDEX® and ZIPLOC® in the U.S. and beyond, with brands marketed outside the U.S. including AUTAN®, TANA®, BAMA®, BAYGON®, BRISE®, KABIKILLER®, KLEAR®, MR MUSCLE®, and RIDSECT®. The 128-year-old company, that generates $9 billion in sales, employs nearly 13,000 people globally and sells products in virtually every country around the world.

© 2016 S. C. Johnson & Son, Inc. All Rights reserved Home Privacy Terms of Use Search Site Map